Nat "King" Cole - AFTER MIDNIGHT 2LP 180gr

Pure Pleasure Records (Capitol)

Product No.: APPR 782 
EAN: 5060149620236 
180 Gram Vinyl Record
No. of Discs: 2 

Nat "King" Cole's music is the perfect combination of romantic charm and musical invention. Cole is renowned for his big production numbers and pop hits such as "Stardust," but he was also an accomplished and unique jazz pianist and excelled in a small-group setting. After Midnight's album cover states that this is a "trio" release. However, Cole is actually paired up with his trio plus five guest soloists (saxophone, trombone, trumpet, percussion and violin). The dubious credits don't matter much though. This is precious music and, without a doubt, one of Cole's best records. Included here are wonderful and intimate renditions of Cole favorites like"Sweet Lorraine," "(Get Your Kicks on) Route 66" and many others. Trombonist Juan Tizol performs a beautiful version of his Afro-Cuban tune "Caravan," and Cole and violinist Stuff Smith trade some hot licks on the up-tempo "I Know That You Know." For anybody looking to understand the depth and breadth of Cole's jazz roots, this disc is an excellent point of departure.
Mastered by Steve Hoffman and Kevin Gray.

"...The sound, like many Capitols from the era, is sweet and warm. And the 180-gram remastered pressing, from the British company Pure Pleasure Records, is superb. It's mono, but there's no sense of horizontal squeeze; there's plenty of depth, every instrument sounds like itself, you hear all of them plainly. Nat and each of the soloists are in the room." - Fred Kaplan, The Absolute Sound, September 2006,

"...Of his jazz recordings, which generally have disappointing sound, this one presents the best marriage of great performance and sonic merit. Cole's singing is just that much better with these great jazz arrangements and this new package by Pure Pleasure spreads the original album's 12 tunes across two 180 gram LPs whilst adding an additional 6 numbers from the 1956 unqualified success." Recording = 9/10; Music = 9/10 - Dennis D. Davis, Hi-Fi+, Issue 45

1. Just You, Just Me
2. Sweet Lorraine
3. Sometimes I'm Happy
4. Caravan
5. It's Only a Paper Moon
6. You're Looking at Me
7. The Lonely One
8. Don't Let it Go to Your Head
9. I Know That You Know
10. Blame it on my Youth
11. When I Grow too Old to Dream
12. Route 66
13. I Was a Little too Lonely (and You Were a Little too Late)
14. Your Can Depend on Me
15. What is There to Say
16. Two Loves Have I
17. andy
18. You're Looking at Me (alternate take) 

79,00 €
Please select variants first